Comida Típica

by Rachel L. Narowski

Food is entirely overpriced in Manuel Antonio. I hate tourist scams… Or is it just the 13% sales tax and 10% gratuity added to every bill? Regardless, the food was pretty delicious, even if not worth the price…

Let’s start with breakfast. This desayuno is a typical way for a Tico to start his day (why is this not how I start my day?). It is comprised of an omelette con queso (cheese omelet), gallo pinto (rice and beans), plátanos maduros (sweet plantains), and a slice of tomate. I ordered this both days from the classic soda next to our hotel.

A mediocre lunch: This is “Tico-style” rice with vegetables (yum), a cabbage salad (eh), and French fries (which, I have to say, the States do much better).

Upon exiting Manuel Antonio Park, we decided to buy agua de coco from a well-toned beach vendor who looked like he belonged in Pirates of the Caribbean. It is essentially a whole coconut fresh off a tree, with an opening hacked into the top with Pirate-man’s machete, making the sweet and oddly-tasting coconut water available to drink. Then you can choose a neon-colored straw. All for just $2!

Although I believe this is usually eaten at lunch, a casado is the combination of almost every food in Tico cuisine. This vegetable casado contains sauteed vegetables, baked potato, salad with avocado, corn tortillas, white rice, black beans, and sweet plantains. I only managed to eat about a 1/4 of this…

Probably the world’s best way to ensure that you’re eating a balanced meal, am I right?

¡Buen provecho!

